Discombobulation and a Realization

“I’m not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost.” ― A.A. Milne

Sometimes, you have an entire day that feels like a really weird dream…

I started the day off by burning a hole in my dress as I rushed to get it ironed. Before Sunday School, I called Clark by his brother’s name. During Sunday School, I forgot Micah’s name and kept calling him Nathan. During children’s church, a new kid completely lost it and instead of being able to get the fellowship hall ready for training, I spent 10 minutes begging the kid to either tell me her name (so I could get her parents) or to at least calm down and eat some goldfish. Then I lost my VBS notes right before I was supposed to speak at VBS training. Lunch was so discombobulated I never got to finish eating. Later that afternoon, I was so out of it I slowed down intending to stop at a traffic light. That was bad cuz the light was green (yeah, the person behind me got a little bent out of shape).

At first I was feeling a little bit sorry for myself, and majorly laughing at how colossally awry this day went. But then I realized all the times today (when I was just not getting it together) that someone else stepped in and gave me a hand…

My mom (who is even more overwhelmed than I am) voluntarily finished ironing my scarred dress so I could get the rest of my stuff together. My Sunday School kids were awesome. Perfect. I was completely scattered this morning and they just rolled with it instead of running over me. Katie E came to the fellowship hall, offered her help, and basically saved my life by finishing up the tables when I disappeared to children’s church. When the kid lost it in children’s church Aniston came to see if she could lend a hand, and then helped me scramble to finish the fellowship hall. My dad pitched in to sort a huge jumbled stack of papers that I needed for the people at training. Not only did Margareta W take my place in children’s church today, but she also stayed after the training and cleaned up. Laura M stayed to help with the registration set up until evening church started.

So many other people let me grab them at the last minute and give them jobs, and not a one of them grouched at me. Even better, they all helped joyfully. I don’t even remember what I asked Benjamin and Danial to do, but I do remember they jumped to it. Luke not only did what I asked, but noticed and did what else needed to be done. And Isaac, Merrick, David, and Garrett cheerfully passed out the papers I never got a chance to put on the tables. Melanie A and Christina A were everywhere, I really don’t know what we would have done without them. So many people helped during the madness of the VBS lunch and I am sure I don’t even know half of everything they all did.

Today is the kind of day that *should* be remembered as a bad one, because of all the things that went wrong. And yes, I am stressed. I am utterly exhausted.

But.

Today also was a day where I got to see firsthand God’s people letting God use them. I got a front row seat to watching the selflessness, helpfulness, and teamwork that make the body of Christ so amazing. I know the memory of how I was loved by my church family today will last much longer than my tired feet or frazzled state of mind.

Today was a special day.

“Blest be the tie that binds
Our hearts in Christian love;
The fellowship of kindred minds
Is like to that above.

We share each other’s woes,
Our mutual burdens bear;
And often for each other flows
The sympathizing tear.”

 

Leave a Reply

