Mortality and Eternity

The events of the past few weeks have made many take note of their own mortality. The media relishes telling us these tales of violence to the point that it becomes impossible not to acknowledge how little control we have over when our life will come to an end.

Do you know where you are going when you die? I can guarantee you that what you decide about who your King is will be either your greatest joy or your worst regret.

My father wrote the following two years ago, and his message still holds true today.

“A friend from high school died unexpectedly this weekend.

It made me consider my own life, and perhaps the short time I have left. After all, we know not our time. I do not imagine that my friend was expecting to die yesterday.

Life is a gamble. By our beliefs and the way we live, we are gambling on one of two world views:

There is no God, or God doesn’t care, or it just doesn’t matter. Life is short and then you die. There may be a heaven, but there is no hell. Therefore we are free to live however we want – if it feels good do it.

Or conversely, there is an Almighty God, and there is a heaven, and there is a hell, and one day we will all stand before his throne to give an account for how we lived. If you believe this, you would be foolish not to live accordingly.

How much do we lose if we wager on the latter, and it turns out to be a fairy tale? Not much really. Imagine how wonderful this world would be if everyone followed the second of the Great Commandments: “Love your neighbor as yourself”.

How much do we lose if we wager on the former, but it turns out we were wrong? There is indeed an Almighty God, to whom one day we will all be held accountable. We lose everything. We lose what could have been in this life, and we will spend eternity separated from God, in everlasting torment.

All of us have heard about Christ Jesus. All of us – by the way we live – have decided if He is:

– a liar
– a lunatic
– who He said He was – God incarnate, who came to save us.

We are all either slaves to Christ, or not. As He said, we are either for Him, or against Him. There is no middle ground. He demands everything we have, our entire being must belong to Him.

I fervently ask you to consider your own life. Which world view are you wagering on being true? After all, we know not our time. I do not imagine that my friend was expecting to die yesterday.

(regards to Blaise Pascal and C.S. Lewis)”

In the morning, when I rise
Give me Jesus.
When I am alone
Oh, when I am alone
Give me Jesus.
When I come to die
Oh, when I come to die
Give me Jesus.
You can have all this world
Just give me Jesus.

Leave a Reply

