Burdened with Sorrow

“Every man has his secret sorrows which the world knows not; and often times we call a man cold when he is only sad.”
– Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Life is hard. Anyone who says otherwise has not lived very much. People die, family members let you down, friends wound you, plans go awry, wishes don’t come true… You want to move past or forget the things that made you sad, but they continue to haunt you.

Sorrow is like a solitary bell rung in the stillness of the night. Even once the last echoes of the note have died away, your ear refuses to acknowledge the sound has ceased and strains to hear it still. You begin to believe the note really does linger, albeit so faintly you are not really certain what it actually sounds like, only that it is there. So too does sorrow linger far longer than the crisp memory of a lost hope or unhappy event. Even when you cannot remember the details of a painful memory you can often still feel the sorrow.

Sometimes you feel strong – the sun is shining and happy things are happening and you can drown out the murmur of shattered dreams and sad memories. But sometimes, it is raining and the sun is hidden behind endless grey clouds. Sometimes sorrow yells and stomps, sometimes it whispers. Quite often it catches you off guard, and you are surprised by the sudden tears that blind you as you drive home one evening. Other times it wakes you up in those dark hours before dawn and taunts you with its aching loneliness.

Life is hard. Sometimes the burdens in my life seem more than I can bear. Sometimes I shed bitter tears and ask God, “Why me? Why these trials? Why these griefs?” I tell Him that I’m not strong enough, that I’m tired, and that I give up. Sometimes I feel as though the weight of my troubles is crushing me and I just want everything to go away. I let myself get caught up in the maelstrom of anguish and despair. If it was up to me, I think I would just fall asleep and never wake up again. But that is not an option for someone who claims Christ as her Savior.

I have a hope that I can and must cling to. Even in the darkest of hours, I must remember His love, I must trust in His purposes, I must rest in His strength to bear the things that I cannot.

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.”
Psalm 34:18

“Whom have I in heaven but you?
And there is nothing on earth that I desire besides you.
My flesh and my heart may fail,
but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”
Psalm 73:25-26

“He has made everything beautiful in its time…”
Ecclesiastes 3:11a

Life is hard, God is good.

“Those who are weary and burdened with sorrow
need not despair there is hope for tomorrow.
God will be there each time you call on Him.”
-Manzo
Leave a Reply

