Rest in Peace

RIP. Rest in peace.

It’s so easy to say, and such a natural phrase to accompany the news of someone’s death.

But what does it actually mean? And is the expression of that sentiment always compatible with the expectation and hope of someone whose eternal destination has been dearly bought by the blood of Christ?

15697762_755607931271133_8181441060374494276_nDeath is something we cannot escape. After death, there are only two options for where we will spend eternity, and one of them is anything but “resting in peace.”

If you are not a bondservant of Jesus Christ, if you have not been washed by His blood, I challenge you to consider what would happen if you died today. If people said about you, “Rest in peace,” would you be doing so? Do you know? Have you thought about what happens to you after you die? We all will die one day. I challenge you to carefully consider where your soul will be when your loved ones attend your funeral.

If you are a broken human made whole by Christ, I challenge you (and myself) to remember that your unsaved friends and family will not rest in peace if they die without Christ as their Lord and Savior. Don’t keep the knowledge of the hope of the cross to yourself. You do not know when their time on earth will be up. Speak now, not later.

“I know not why God’s wondrous grace
To me He hath made known,
Nor why, unworthy, Christ in love
Redeemed me for His own.

But I know Whom I have believed,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not how this saving faith
To me He did impart,
Nor how believing in His Word
Wrought peace within my heart.

But I know Whom I have believed,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.

I know not how the Spirit moves,
Convincing men of sin,
Revealing Jesus through the Word,
Creating faith in Him.

But I know Whom I have believed,
And am persuaded that He is able
To keep that which I’ve committed
Unto Him against that day.”

-Daniel W. Whittle, 1883

Leave a Reply

