Spiritual Fitness

“…for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come. The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance. For to this end we toil and strive, because we have our hope set on the living God, who is the Savior of all people, especially of those who believe. Command and teach these things. Let no one despise you for your youth, but set the believers an example in speech, in conduct, in love, in faith, in purity. ” – 1 Timothy 4:8-12

I would like 2017 to be a year I live deliberately – for if I do not pursue Christ intentionally, I know I will fail Him unintentionally.

The first step in living life deliberately is getting in better spiritual shape to do so. So many people start off the new year by going on a diet or joining a gym. I plan to start this new year off by going on a spiritual diet as well as starting a fitness program for my soul. The idea of decluttering my life spiritually was from my dear friend Allison, the idea to start soul strength training came as a result of helping Laura train for the Savage Race.

The following two passages have been sounding in my ears relentlessly for some time now. I seek to make them my standards in the coming year.

“Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil.”
-Ephesians 5:16

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.”
-Hebrews 12:1

I cannot afford to be disqualified in the race I am running, for it is one of eternal consequence. Were it a physical race, I would train diligently, make sure I had the best gear, and be sure to lose any unnecessary weight. I intend to do just that in the coming year, but with the spiritual race in mind.

Leave a Reply

