Thank You, George

Sleep eluded me last night. I finally decided to read, and for some reason, an old childhood favorite came to mind. All I really remembered about it was that it had been one of my favorites in third grade and that it was full of stories of answered prayer. I knew there was a chance it would make me cry, but I also knew God had probably reminded me of it for a reason.

I opened it, truly at random, and landed on journal entry where the author detailed the death of his toddler. That was not at all the kind of thing I wanted to think about, so I hastily skipped ahead to the next entry. It seemed safer, it was only about him dealing with being under the weather, losing his voice, and…

“May the Lord grant that I may be brought nearer to him through this, for I am not at all in the state in which I ought to be, and I think sometimes that our late afflictions have been lost upon me, and that the Lord will need to chastise me severely.”

I have never before had such a strong desire to hurl a book across the room.

This evening, I picked the book back up and read some more. The more I read from that author, the more I realized why I couldn’t sleep last night. I needed to hear these words. Even though what the man wrote was nothing new to me, something about the way he said it gave me the courage to apply these truths to my own heart.

“Would the believer, therefore, have his faith strengthened, he must especially, give time to God, who tries his faith in order to prove to His child, in the end, how willing He is to help and deliver him, the moment it is good for him.”

“Either we trust in God, and in that case we neither trust in ourselves, nor in our fellow-men, nor in circumstances, nor in anything besides; or we DO trust in one or more of these, and in that case do NOT trust in God. 3, If we, indeed, desire our faith to be strengthened, we should not shrink from opportunities where our faith may be tried, and, therefore, through the trial, be strengthened.”

“Truly I prefer by far this life of almost constant trial, if I am only able to roll all my cares upon my Heavenly Father, and thus become increasingly acquainted with Him, to a life of outward peace and quietness, without these constant proofs of His faithfulness.”

I’m glad I was reminded why George Müller is one of my heroes.

Rest for Souls.jpg

Leave a Reply

