Gardens and Hearts

There is something deeply satisfying about exerting your will over nature and conforming rocks and plants to a specific design.

Today, as I wrestled with gnarly roots and stubborn weeds, planted roses, trimmed roses that were too tall and gangly, and fitted rocks into better patterns, I was reminded that my efforts were a picture of what the Lord does in the lives of His children.

He is ever conforming us to the image of His Son. He weeds, prunes, plants, and fits all the pieces together. Often he shapes us by removing distractions and things that are competing with Him for supremacy in our hearts, even when those things are people we love.

I still don’t understand why someone I loved more than anything was removed from my life, I still have trouble praising God for that. But I am thankful for a Master Gardener who works with perfect skill and never makes a mistake in anything He does.

“Be still, my soul: when dearest friends depart,
And all is darkened in the vale of tears,
Then shalt thou better know His love, His heart,
Who comes to soothe thy sorrow and thy fears.
Be still, my soul: thy Jesus can repay
From His own fullness all He takes away.

Be still, my soul: the hour is hastening on
When we shall be forever with the Lord.
When disappointment, grief and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul: when change and tears are past
All safe and blessèd we shall meet at last.”

Katharina von Schlegel

Leave a Reply

