Something Better

“God is good.”
Fact

“God is just.”
Fact.

“God is wise.”
Fact.

“God is all-powerful.”
Fact.

“God is love.”
Fact.

“God gives and God takes away.”
Fact.

“God never takes away something from your life without replacing it with something better.” (Billy Graham)
Incomplete.

When God takes away an earthly joy, it usually isn’t just so He can replace it with a better earthly joy. The something better is Himself. Rather than give us all earthly joys, He teaches us to rejoice in Him in all earthly circumstances.

His goal is for us to truthfully echo Paul who said: “Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ…” (Philippians 3:8)

But how slow I am to learn this lesson. How bitterly I fight it. I dearly love the things and people I love. I am hurt and angry when they are taken from me. Am I wrong to pray for things to be restored? I don’t think so. But I know I am wrong when I refuse the comfort I could find in Him. I am wrong when I doubt either His love or His wisdom.

Shall I accept good from my Master but not adversity?

“My Jesus can repay
From His own fullness all He takes away.”
(Katharina A. von Schlegel)
Fact.

And one day, He will “wipe away every tear.”

3.jpg

Leave a Reply

